What Should I Read Next?


Looking for your new favorite book? Librarians are great resources when it comes to book suggestions, and we are happy to connect you to your next great read. 

 As a Library card holder, there are a variety of tools to assist you in the discovery of new books.
Try out one of the options below to discover something new to read!

Use Wowbrary to browse and request new books.

Search BookPage online. The print edition of this publication is also available for patrons to take home in the Library's front porch. Kindly sponsored by the Friends of Dororthy Alling Library.

Find read-alikes by using the NoveList Select tab when searching the catalog. To learn how to use Novelist, watch this short video.

Still not finding wwhat you want? Use our Personalized Pick service for a recommendation from one of our librarians!

There are many other great resources you can use to lead you to new authors and books you might like. We've listed a few below that we enjoy!

Staff Picks

Each year the staff and volunteers gather their favorite picks and offer them to our patrons as our holiday gift. 

2019 2018 2017 2016 2015


All Genres


I Love Libraries: A website initiative of the American Library Association (ALA) designed for people who use and love libraries.

Bookseer: Just finished a book you loved and you're not sure what to read next? Put in the book you just finshed and it will give suggestions on what to read next.

WhatShouldIReadNext: Enter a book or author you like and this website will search its database for other possible favorites!

Library Booklists: A great blog containing lists of books for all genre's,

Book Spot: A free resource center that simplifies the search for the best book-related content on the Web.

Bookwire: Reviews, author features, and a web page listing other web sites covering book awards in all genres.

Whichbook: A completely new way of choosing what to read. Not genre based, give it a try.

Bookish: Book recommendations on many different genres, including children and youth. Designed to give book lovers information on books, authors and genres.

Goodreads: Widely used by all ages this site encourages interaction amongst users. Sign up and share what you're reading with friends and see what books they love.

Fantasy

BestFantasyBooks.com: This website contains too many fantasty book lists to mention! Check it out.

For Kids

Choices Reading Lists: Find choices for children, young adults and books selected by teachers & librarians for youth.

Best Children's Books: This site has books by grade as well as by subject to help you find the perfect book.

Common Sense Media: Reviews by children and adults for books, television, movies, apps, and games.

Readers' Advisory

EarlyWord: Used by librarians to see what's coming next. Contains some bestseller lists.

ShelfLife: Entertainment Weekly's one-stop-shop for book news, magazine style. Great for trendy news on books.

Omnivoracious: A blog all about books run by the editors at Amazon.com.

Historical Fiction

Of Ages Past: A web site with an online magazine of resources on Historical Fiction.

Uchronia: Another fine alternate history site covering the newest in the genre.

Reading the Past: Previews of upcoming historical fiction and reviews.

Horror

Horror Writers Association: Provides links to new releases, awards and blogs.

Mystery

The Gumshoe Site: Covering Mystery Fiction and the authors who write it.

The Mystery Reader: Reviews, news and a searching feature to look for particular books or authors on the site.

Stop, You're Killing Me: A resource for lovers of mystery, crime, spy and suspense books.

Science Fiction

SFBook: Science Fiction book resource for news and reviews.

Historical Fiction